Our Line of Succession

Name Year Consecrated Notes
Paul Athanasius 1877 Consecrated by Syrian Patriarch of Antioch, Ignatius Peter III and appointed Patriarchal Legate in Malabar
Francis Xavier Alvarez 1889 Paul Athanasius consecrated Alvarez assisted by Malabar Bishops Evanius and Gregorius
Joseph Rene Vilatte 1891 Alvarez consecrated Vilatte as Archbishop Metropolitan for America, assisted by Athanasius and Gregorius
Frederick E.J. Lloyd 1915 Consecrated by Vilatte assisted by Bishop Paul Miraglia. Lloyd succeeded Vilatte as Archbishop in 1920
John Churchill Sibley 1929 Consecrated by Lloyd assisted by Archbishop Gregory and Bishops Daniel, Francis and Axel then appointed Archbishop Metropolitan for British Empire
John S.M. Ward 1935 Consecrated by Sibley and then succeeded him as Archbishop in 1938. Gained additional lines of Succession in 1945

Vilatte with his consecrators in 1892

The Consecration of Joseph Rene Villatte
Front from left; Joseph R. Vilatte, Paul Mar Evanius, Bishop Divanyosious, Paul Athanasius, Bishop of Kottayam, George Mar Gregorius, Bishop of Niranam and Francis Xavier Alvarez